Success stories

I am new to this myositis world. I am in the process of being diagnosed and have been looking on the web for some success stories. I know that some people have the disease go into remission and regain their strength. I need to see those stories right now....I have a job where I am in outside sales and need to be fairly active. Can anyone share?:)

Hi Rose,

Welcome! I can remember being where you are now, and desperately wanting the good news. When you first start learning about these diseases, it seems like only the worst possible information gets to you first and it's freaking scary. Immediately after telling me that the bumps on my fingers looked like Dermatomyositis, my Dermatologist said, "Now don't go home and look it up online!" Haaha!

I just spoke with my Rheumatologist last week about gaining muscle tissue back. She said that as long as the tissue hasn't been too damaged, that it should be able to rebuild. Even if some tissue has been damaged beyond repair, sometimes the surrounding and surviving tissue can rebuild and provide strength in the area. Then, sometimes it's just damaged beyond repair and that is what we all hope to avoid!

While I am not in remission on my own, I am in a medically-assisted remission, where my medication keeps the inflammation down and keeps me relatively healthy. I struggle a little still, but I'm alive and doing pretty great!

With myositis, we often struggle with "unexplained" weakness even when the counts seem stable. I was on full time disability, but now have a part-time job that I do from home, which works great for me. With rest and planning (carefully conserving and distributing my energy and strength [it takes practice - but you can do it]) I am able to get out and see friends and family as well as do quite a few things out and about.