Inclusion Body Myositis symptoms

I would like to share my Inclusion Body Myositis experiences, symptoms and adaptations. I hope someone may benefit and would be interested in hearing any comments. I am 65 years old and my awareness of the onset of this was approximately 15 years ago. I was an auto mechanic and business owner and always quite active all my life. I spent a lot of time walking our very large dogs and found myself tripping a lot. Thinking that I was just clumsy and needing a hip replacement and Hep. C treatment, I got those two issues resolved about 10 years ago. I continued to get weaker (weakness in legs, arms, hands, fingers and ankles) and had to close my auto repair business in 2008. I went to UCLA medical center and had blood work, MRI and EMG tests. They suspected IBM. I had a muscle biopsy through MDA that was inconclusive. MDA closed down and I tried to get a second biopsy through my insurance but was turned down. My neurologist concluded that everything was consistent with IBM and I couldn’t afford to pursue it further. I left it at that and continued to work in the office of an auto repair shop eventually in a wheelchair all day. I was laid off 2 ½ months ago. I am now awaiting a Social Security Disability decision. I can no longer stand or walk unassisted (the extent of my walking is a few steps to the bathroom on a walker leaning against the wall). I need a wheelchair to leave the house. My loving wife is my caregiver. I have a raised toilet seat and get by using a urinal at night. I pray a lot and in spite of everything, try to remain positive. I have always tried to read online about IBM and possible new research, I have recently discovered support groups, from which I have learned up a lot. The one symptom I have and not really seen anywhere in IBM cases are problems with the ankles. I started wearing ankle braces a few years ago because they were weak and bowing in especially when I put weight on them. Now it is like the joints are per