IBM and respiratory problems

Dear all:

I am new to this - yes I am an old guy trying to do what younger people do naturally -- so please let me know if I am doing it wrong.

I am 75 and have been diagnosed 7 years ago with IBM; but probably have it longer. Use an electric wheelchair and a walker at home. About 2 weeks ago I started having shortness of breath and some important pain (6/10) in my diafragm

when getting up from the sitting position. Any experience out there that can someone share with the same or similar situation?

Any comments on IBM and respiratory conditions will be appreciated.

Thanks to all.

Herb

Hi Herb,

I have DM and when it was at it's worst I had respiratory problems, but once I was on the right dose of medications, it did get better.

What has the doctor said?

(And for the record, some of the younger folks have a hard time with this too. You did great!!)

Hi Herb.

I haven't experienced this personally, but many others have. When it comes to questions about new symptoms, I like to go to Bill Tillier first. He has some good commentary and suggestions at http://ibmmyositis.com/respir.htm - I'll list his main points below, but it's worth reading the rest. You'll notice it's most precautionary stuff, since respiration issues are still kind of rare, or at least under-reported.

KEY FACTS:

• Research indicates that weakness of the diaphragm or other respiratory problems may be more common in IBM cases than once appreciated.
  • Recent research found a high frequency of obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) in patients with inflammatory myopathies. Weakness of the oropharyngeal muscles could explain this finding. The possibility that these alterations play a role in the persistence of fatigue in patients with inflammatory myopathies cannot be ruled out (Selva-O'Callaghan, et al, 2009).