What's wrong with me

My situation started out a few years ago as a painful lump in my left foot. The pain was mostly in the morning and at the end of the day. I went quite along time before finally going to see a podiatrist. Podiatrist tells me I have plantar fasciitis and proceeds with the standard boot, night splints etc…well my foot got worse.

After close to a year of dealing with the podiatrist, my gp looks at my foot and tells me to see a surgeon. I see a surgeon, he says I have a plantar fibroma and it is causing the pain. Surgeon suggests removing the fibroma, but says its elective and that I can wait…so I wait.

Over the next ten months, the pain progresses to both feet and my left hip. I’ve been presenting to various drs now for over two years and not one of them has ordered any bloodwork…I really start feeling most awful during the fall of 2013. My feet hurt, my left hip hurts, and I have come to the point that I can almost no longer walk. In my simple mind, I have not connected the various things going on with my body as a potential systemic issue. In addition to the hip and foot pain, I have an ongoing issue with my hands (see photo) that the dermatologists says its dry skin…As you can see its pretty dry…this is in addition to numbness and burning in my hands from time to time.

…so at the end of October 2013’ I decide to refer myself to a rheumatologist. Believing that my foot was only a fibroma and that I only had dry skin on my hands, I am convinced that the pain in my hip is do to some plain old arthritis and that the doc can give me some meds that will make me feel better…boy was I wrong.